3 Great Motherhood Principles to Abide By

I love motherhood. From the very moment we found out that I was pregnant up to this day, I enjoy every bit of this motherhood journey. I love being a mom to twins Sovi and Tice. They are a joy to me and I love life with them.

Don’t get me wrong. Not all days are great. There are times when I see myself raising my voice, frustrated because they’re not eating their food (after I gave them a lot of snacks. lol). Or days when I’m grumpy at Jay to show him that I am tired and stressed (yep, that’s manipulation right there). Not all days are perfect. But even these days add in to the beauty of motherhood. They add flavor to this one amazing calling of raising lives to Jesus.

Why do I enjoy motherhood?

Maybe because I married at the right age and have seen a lot of examples in the past. Maybe because Sovi and Tice did not give me a hard time since day 1 (except the sleepless night for the first 3 months). Or maybe because I have a great mom who always inspired me to be a great mom.

However, I believe that everything is an outflow of the condition of the heart. I think the reason why I love motherhood a lot is because I decided to embrace and enjoy itΒ everyday of my life.

Lessons Learned

I also learned that:

1. Every family is unique – I don’t have to do what my sister-in-law Brenda is doing, or my spiritual mother Casey is doing or someone I saw in Facebook, etc. Yes I can learn from other people but I should not go towards the imitating route. Each family is special and thus I need to see what is our calling and identity as a family is and nourish that. For example, I recognized that we’re Filipinos who have been exposed to a community who are on fire for revival over the last decade so I am training my kids embrace the godly Filipino traits but at same time prepare them for the nations. Expose them to church and being very careful with what they listen and watch. Even the toys they play.

I also need to note that their Dad loves music and I like to write, and cultivate these gifts when I see these in my kids.

2.Β Enjoy the moment – They are not kids forever. Even now Jay and I already miss the baby Sovi and baby Tice where we can still snuggle them and kiss them all over when they’re sleeping. This is why we love to take videos and pictures of them so we can capture moments and keep them forever.

Having this in mind, I have learned to play with my kids. Be with them and enjoy time with them. I make sure that despite all the business at work and ministry, I am always present to empower them and be there for them (thank God for online jobs).

I would literally decide to put down my mobile phone and close the laptop and be in the moment as they giggle, cry or play. I took an effort and memorize most of the Hi5 songs so I can dance and do actions with them. I always start my day with them with an embrace (skin to skin, touch), prayer (speaking blessing over them) and affirmation. We end up our day with songs, plays and tickles.

I gaze at them when they are asleep. I pray for them. I always seize the moment and enjoy every bit of it. Because again, time flies and I don’t want to regret one day that my kids grew up without even me noticing it.

3. I am not alone. – I was multi-tasking one day. Cooking, chopping, letting the kids finish their snack, listening to a Bible App and was in hurry to go back to work. The feeling of being stress again started creeping in. Then I heard a still small voice saying, “Don’t forget your laundry!” Haha…

It was then that I noticed that all along I have the Holy Spirit with me. I was NEVER alone. He was always there guiding me how to be a wife and mother that’s pleasing to Him.

Sometimes we just box the Holy Ghost in church activities. That He’s just there during altar calls but we forget to recognize Him in our homes, in our motherhood…

He will never leave us as orphans (John 14:18) and He will guide in all truths (John 16:13). Thus when we’re in the midst of stress, sleepless nights, cluttered home and kids freaking us out – we are not alone. This is how I keep my balance. This is how I can smile in the midst of a storm.

Kid at Heart

I love motherhood. Though is it NOT easy. It definitely is most rewarding. It always teaches me life’s lessons. Most of the time, it teaches me the Father’s heart for me as I see myself in my kids’ shoes.

So if you’re a mom like me, relax. We all kiddos in this journey. They learn from us, we learn from Jesus. So better be like our kids. Don’t be anxious. Laugh and play… Trust that the Father will lead the way…

πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “3 Great Motherhood Principles to Abide By

  1. this is wonderful and very light..(i mean, upon reading this blog, i dont feel stress and pressured being a mother..)i really love this..and i admit it that there are a lot of times i forgot i have Jesus in my life, that i always think i am alone..and yes this blog is true and make me awake again that I AM NOT ALONE..and i have to go back to Jesus just the way i did before I got married..Grace..thank you for this..and hope to read another one soon…

  2. It’s wonderful and amazing Grace, still remember me and Gary? Off course, we’re both proud of you, it’s one year today when you made our day very wonderful and great, God bless your heart and all Filipino and vote our beloved MAYOR DUTERTEπŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ’’πŸ’’πŸ’’πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡

    • Yes Mommy Amy. Miss you both! One of the best experiences in my photography life was covering your wedding. You made us all a part of your family right away. May God bless our nation Mommy… He is King!

What do you think of this post?

