A Much Needed Perez

The Gathering

Listened to Bethel Church’s podcast last night and Bill Johnson shared about a significant event this coming April. In his Resistance, Persistence, and Breakthrough sermon, he disclosed how Lou Engle had a prophetic dream last December. In this dream, God told him to lay his hands on Bill so him and the Bethel Church family can receive a double portion of Azusa Street revival that produced at least 600 million souls.

Bill shared about how Bob Jones also prophesied in the past about one billion souls coming to God. Another prophet also spoke that after 100 years, there will be another Azusa Street revival with a double portion of anointing. This year marks the 110th anniversary of the Azusa Street revival.

As a result, they are renting a big coliseum for this gathering this April. There will be prayer and fasting. The whole Bethel church and their Bible School will head to Pasadena, CA not just to commemorate this anniversary but to receive what God has for them.

A Holy Envy

There were still a lot of details in the podcast but my heart was set to that mandate God is giving them. I thought in my heart, “how about us Lord? When will You use my people for the harvest of souls in Your kingdom.”

I have been writing a book about Revival in the Philippines and this involves 12 years of research, prayer and allowing God to form this call in me. I know and I know deep within my heart and soul that God is using our people in the last day outpouring. This is written all over our history as a nation (more details in the book). We have a call to bring the gospel to the Middle East. We have a destiny to usher in revival in this region.

So things like this gathering in Pasadena, breaks me. Because if there’s one thing I desire, it’s to see His glory come on earth.

Selfish Prayer

Selfish as it may seem but my knees were on the floor when the podcast ended.  I asked God to give the Philippines a Perez. In Genesis 38: 29, we can see that Perez and Zerah were twins inside Tamar’s womb. The later was supposedly the oldest (whom the covenant blessing should be passed on), but Perez stuck his hand out in the air to get that blessing. The midwife tied a scarlet thread in his arm signifying that he came in first because he broke through.

And this is my selfish prayer: like Jacob, this anointing may not be our birthright but I want the Philippines to be a Perez sticking her hand in the heavenly realms screaming, “I  want this Lord! I want this portion. I want this glory. Use our people for this mandate God.”

Do we have the right resources and strategy? No. Do we have the people ready to do it? No.

But can He change a nation in a day? Can He do whatever pleases Him? Can He do the impossible? The answer in all these is yes. So I am here willing and ready to receive every possibility! Because I am a Jacob generation. I am a Filipino. I am Perez!

What do you think of this post?

