Fire and Haze

My daily routine always starts with waking up at 5:30 and going straight to the gym. This gives me an opportunity every morning to enjoy God’s creation at its finest. The flowers blossoming, fresh greens in trees and grass, dews in leaves, the morning rain at times… There are also people jogging and preparing for their day. But above all this, I always look forward to the sun smiling good morning at me.

These past days however, Mr. Sun is greeting me in a special way. He is that golden ball up in the sky. No rays, not shining bright – just that beautiful yellow ball up high. And this is because of the haze all over Davao City.

No filter: Sun over a Haze-y Davao City

A “haze is traditionally an atmospheric phenomenon where dust, smoke and other dry particles obscure the clarity of the sky”, according to Wikipedia. And this is going on for days in my city now. The reason? The Indonesia fires! These forest and agricultural slash and burn fires are creating haze not in their own nation but it has reached neighboring countries like the Philippines (Mindanao area), Malaysia, and Singapore. A recent report mention that it is “now affecting the Pacific nations of Guam, Palau and the Northern Marianas”.

This spoke to me on my way home today…

Looking at this phenomenon through a spiritual lens, it tells me that when the fire of God hits a place and it becomes big, all other areas will be under the cloud of God’s glory. When revival fires come and consume a city, that place will not alone experience His presence but those near to it as well.

This moved me deeply in prayer

“Lord, set the Philippines on fire. Make us hunger for the reality of Your presence that You will begin to burn our nation! Set us on fire God that it will cover us with Your glory. Make it so big that there is a haze of Your presence all over Asia! A haze (glory) that will hover over us. That will take over our daily routines. A glory that will come and remain.”

I also remember Cindy Jacob’s prophecy for the Philippines in 2001 that I still hold dear in my heart until now:

“And I am going to come with signs and wonders and miracles! I am getting ready to pour out a miracle anointing upon the Philippines such as the earth has never seen! For Indonesia, they had a mighty rushing wind. But in the Philippines they will have the fire from heaven that will begin to fall! And this will be a purging fire! And I will say, I will visit even as if in a day, says God. Do not think that I am not able to come in a day and begin to unravel the iniquities of the nation, says the Lord!”

This fire if for us. The question is when will we allow God’s pruning process in our lives so He can take out what’s worldly so we can bear more fruit?

There is haze when there is fire. And the fire needs to be big enough to affect other cities and nations. Will be allow God to move in our lives deeply that we will live burning for Him?

What do you think of this post?

