Love the Struggle

There was one time in our marriage when we were always fighting. Yes, fighting. Not really intense but there was always that tension that we were both easily irritated with each other. It was almost one whole week that something always came up and we got into either “prophetic discussions” (as my father in faith Eric Miller describes it) or passivity, that we don’t want to talk unless we needed to resolve concerns at home or with kids.

Towards the end of the week, I got really tired of it. And every time I felt like our talks were on its way to touch sensitive areas of our hearts again, I got out of it. I pressed down the pain and gave a fake smile. I let out a fancy laugh to avoid confrontation. I loathed on the uneasy feeling of struggle.

Then a gentle whisper came…

“Why are you avoiding the struggle? Sometimes it’s the best way to go through things. It’s how you learn. You can grow and build healthy habits out of it.”

We are changed from glory to glory. We are not yet in our perfect state until Jesus returns. After salvation, we are being shaped into His nature. But oftentimes, pride hinders us to admit mistakes and face what’s wrong in us. We embrace hypocrisy instead just to elude dispute.

However, I learned that doing this doesn’t solve issues and worse, we do not grow. It is through the storm that we soar. It is through struggle that we mature.

It was a good learning for me. Now my husband and I are getting sweeter daily in our marriage because we talk things through, forgive and serve the other person first than ourselves. So love the struggle. Be humble. Cause just like Robert Frost words it, “The best way out is always through.”

Blessings! ❤

2 thoughts on “Love the Struggle

  1. Always enjoy the journey! Hehe. I am not married but I’m just reacting in a way that (I have problems, like you mentioned – also when it comes to relationships) I can to express that the destination is just a bonuns. 🙂

What do you think of this post?

