Eternity starts right here, right now…

I’ve heard it said many times…

“Oh, I’ll just get right with God towards the end of my life. I’ll enjoy life (in worldliness) while I’m still young.”

And this too…

“God’s not coming back soon. I’ll just live for him towards the end of time.”

Or even the mindset many Christians have that we can live in compromise and just make things right later on.

The sad news for all of these is that we fail to realize that our lives here on earth will determine our eternal damnation. Our now defines our tomorrow.

Your eternity may be in trouble

Where are you now in your walk with God?

Remember that those who don’t have Jesus as their personal Lord and Savior will automatically go to hell according to many scriptures in the Bible. John 14:6 is one alone saying “Jesus is the way, the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Him.” It is through Jesus alone. Not religion. Not good works. Not degree or status. Not fame or fortune.

If you are not in relationship with Jesus today, your eternity is in trouble…

You may have received the Lord in your life. However you’ve chosen to continue living in sin, you will still go to hell. I am not talking about Christians committing mistakes as they grow in their walk with God. I’m talking about if you who allow sin to be your god. If you compromise… If you can’t stop fornicating, lusting, being influenced by worldly friends, lying, worshipping images made by men, indulge in homosexual spirit, living in with someone outside of marriage…

Ephesian 5:3-5 (NIV) But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people. Nor should there be obscenity, foolish talk or coarse joking, which are out of place, but rather thanksgiving. For of this you can be sure: No immoral, impure or greedy person—such a person is an idolater—has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and of God.

Galatians 5:19-21 (NIV) The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.

You may be found in church or even be preaching but if sin still controls us, you are in trouble.

Revelation 3:15-16 (NIV) I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.

Today defines your eternity

However we live our lives today will determine what our eternity will be.

All will be accounted for. Our…

  • Motives
  • Thoughts
  • Actions
  • Words
  • Good or bad, whatever we decide to give ourselves into

All will be accounted for. While we are still alive.

ALL — every second of the day, from sun up to sun down. Nothing will escape the Book of Life. And death is the end (or His second coming). And however we lived our lives while we were alive will determine our eternal state.

  • How many hours we prayed
  • How many times we forgave
  • Our loving thoughts for those who persecute us
  • Our compassion for the lost
  • Our love for His word
  • What we did in His vineyard
  • Our ministries
  • How we did our roles (as parents, office worker, etc.)
  • Our intimacy

It’s not about doing good works. It’s about the works produced out of our intimacy with Him (if there is).

So what am I really saying?

Let’s make every second of our lives count.

Let’s choose to live in righteousness. If you’re reading this and you know deep down in your heart you’re living in sin, I plead that you get things right with Jesus. All you have to do is talk to Him. His Holy Spirit will guide you.

Meditate on His word. Get involve at church. Associate with friends who are on fire for the Gospel. Say NO to this world’s fleshy enticements. Count the COST and follow Jesus and you will not regret it for the rest of your life.

Yes it will HURT. Yes you will struggle. I’ve been there. Back when I was 17 to 19, I savored sin. I was in the midst of partying, drugs, alcohol, smoking, wrong relationships… My grades suffered and my relationship with my parents was dim. It was hard to live for God. This is even growing up in church as a Pastor’s kid.

It was praying early morning daily that God will take over that saved me. It was a decision. It was a cry for help that changed the whole scenario. He came and led me again. I suffered 3 dark months of depression and another 5 years battling rejection and the whole process was painful but sweet.

With tears in my eyes now I am happy I made that decision March 16th, 2001 and left all unrighteousness. I went home not just to my parents but to Dad. To His forgiveness and life. I still struggled after that. But that was the start of my road to where I am now. A life in God full of security and bliss.

Lord, stamp eternity in my eyeballs. – Jonathan Edwards

It is my prayer that we will always think of eternity. That whatever we do from here on, we will always see it in the light of heaven and hell. What we do in school, business, offices, home… How we react. What we’re watching. Are they all worth in in the life of heaven and hell?

Remember, eternity is not just a year, 100 years, 1000 years, a million years… It is FOREVER… There in no turning back. It is your FINAL destination. And if it’s hell, it means suffering ‘where the maggots never die and the fire never goes out (Mark 9:48)’, it means wishing you die because of the pain and turmoil but it’ll be too late…

When I think of this and all of my love ones, relatives and friends who are not living right with God, I get broken again. I cry for souls again. I check my heart condition again and make sure all of what I do, think and say are focused in my eternal life. Because eternity starts right here, right now.

Source: Google search

Image source: Google search

2 thoughts on “Eternity starts right here, right now…

  1. So true Ms. Julmar Grace,
    Attached BIBLE verses were very helpful for realization and of course TESTIMONIES are powerful living proof! I am one of the people who’s always blessed by the works of your hands.. lablab kita te! 😉

    • How you allowed the Lord in your life is incredible Kathie. We are always in awe of the changes God is doing in your life. 😉

What do you think of this post?

